Photo Blog!

If you’re facebook friends with me, you may have noticed I’ve kept up with a practice of doing a photo a day of my YAV year in Little Rock. Here are a few pictures from this album that I hope capture just how diverse my experiences here in Little Rock have been!

In no particular order…

 

We had a group of students from Austin College on their alternative spring break planting onions, building raised beds and trellises for the garden made out of bamboo!

 

On one of our community day we visited the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, which celebrates African American community and culture in Arkansas from the mid-1800s to the present. The most illuminating exhibit showed how the construction of I-630 intentionally decimated 9th St., a thriving black business district. Families were displaced and communities were torn apart in the name of “urban renewal.”

I’m learning how to drum at Mercy Community Church, an ecumenical worshiping community that shows radical hospitality especially for people who are chronically homeless.

The YAVs assistant stage-managed Seussical, the Second Presbyterian Church youth group’s annual musical!

Preaching a sermon at Westover Hills Presbyterian Church

 

perpetually chasing chickens

I learned how to use a solar-powered oven to bake cookies! It’s actually quite an art form, so I’m still working on it

 

The YAVs were deployed to Oklahoma City with the Presbyterian Disaster Assistance to provide support and repair homes that had been affected by recent floods and tornados

I harvested exceptionally large mustard green leaves.

 

Kait and I performed a scene from La Boheme on the same stage as a professional opera singer in Vienna through our amazing church choir.

I got to sit with the orchestra during one of the Arkansas Repertory Theatre’s performances of The Little Mermaid.

We attended a vigil at the Capital for Syrian refugees.

Every month we attend Beer and Hymns, a ministry of Canvas Community Church, at a local bar.

We have an amazing spiritual director who took us to the Painted Pig, where we each could create a cup for ourselves.

 

We have so many diverse and interesting opportunities to be part of here in Little Rock. I don’t think I ever could have predicted how much I’d have fallen in love with this city. It’s been an unexpectedly incredible ride, and I can’t wait to see what experiences the next few months have in store!

peace,

Emily

Leave a Reply

